Visa Fee


1. Citizens of the countries below are exempt from visa fees (no charge).

North America: U.S.A., Canada

Central and South America: Bahamas, Barbados, Colombia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras, Mexico, Suriname

Africa: Lesotho, Mauritius

Asia: Bangladesh, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines (only for Temporary Visitors staying in Japan within 90 days), British Nationals Overseas (Hong Kong), Hong Kong S.A.R., Macao S.A.R.

Europe: Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech, Denmark, Estonia, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz, Luxembourg, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania (only for Temporary Visitors staying in Japan within 60 days), Russia, San Marino, Slovak, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan

Middle East: Israel, Jordan

Oceania: Australia, New Zealand

2. For All Other Countries

Visa Type  Visa Fees
April 1, 2021 - March 31, 2022  
Visa Fees
Until March 31, 2021 
Single-entry   $28.00     $27.00
Single-entry (India) $8.00 $8.00
Multiple-entry $56.00 $55.00
Multiple-entry (India)  $8.00  $8.00
Transit   $6.00  $6.00
Transit (India)  $1.00  $1.00
Extension of Re-entry Permission $28.00 $27.00

Visa fees are revised on April 1st each year and waived for certain nationalities.
Visa Fees must be paid with CASH. Personal checks, money orders and credit cards are not accepted. 
In principle, multiple-entry visas are only issued to the nationals of countries that have reciprocal arrangements with Japan.
Above is updated on April 2020.